Willbrook Plantation Golf Reviews

Since the inception of the Myrtle Beach Golf Insider in 2009, Willbrook Plantation has consistently been among the Grand Strand's highest-rated golf courses in terms of service, course condition and aesthetics/playablility.

OVERALL SCORE: [8.5]

  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Based on 1284 reviews »

Latest Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Phil on 02/09/2018:
" Green are very fast and in great shape. Great layout and can be very challenging at times. The wind was blowing and it was cold that made it tuff to score but it was fun. Great staff from the head Golf professional Kevin to the snack bar lady. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Jim W on 01/21/2018:
" Nice course. Well groomed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I will return to play another day. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Tony K on 01/20/2018:
" My first time playing here. Course was in real nice shape for January and will definitely want to return. Course is challenging but doesn't beat you up greens were very nice and seemed to roll true. Very good experience highly recommend. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Don C on 01/13/2018:
" In great condition especially for January. Our group of 8 locals had a great time. On the 18th hole, our foursome had 4 par putts. 3 about 15-20 feet and one about 10 feet. We all drained them, making for a memorable finish. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Michael J on 11/23/2017:
" Very well maintained and staffed, a great value and I really appreciate their children's policy. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Dave on 11/07/2017:
" Course was in great shape, even though it is "Overseeding" time this time of year. Will be perfect once all the "Winter Grass" grows in. Very scenic holes. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
JOHNNY D on 03/28/2017:
" Fair and balance (local resident) A great Maple design but fair throughout even with the water holes. The course at this point in time is immaculate from tee boxes to greens. If you are on a golf package make certain to include this one as part of the outing. You will enjoy a scenic view, superb conditions and great staff...have fun! "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Timothy on 03/02/2017:
" I have to say the course is in very good condition tee to green. My complaint is that I booked a threesome and they added a fourth to my group which is not uncommon but I was forced to share a cart with someone I didn't know. They told me they didn't have enough carts to give the other guy his own cart. This is not a comfortable position to be put into, so I will think again before booking at Willbrook. To me, they did not consider my feelings, they just were packing in as many players they could for the money. If you care more about the course than the customers, you will lose customers. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Charles Cavalaris on 02/25/2017:
" Lots of water on the front. Island green. Great course in great condition. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Mike(Oneida,NY) on 02/20/2017:
" This is a great layout. The course was in very good condition, a little dry from lack of rain. Unfortunately it was a very slow round, not really the course fault, it was just very busy. Great gal in the grill, super hot dogs.Play here often and will be back again. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
JA on 02/17/2017:
" This was one of the last courses I played in the Primetime Founders Group but moving forward it will be one of the most frequent. We loved this course and as mid/high handicappers it was fair and it was in spectacular shape. This is one of my favorite courses down here now and we will be back very often. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Teresa (Annandale, VA) on 02/07/2017:
" The course was in great shape with fast greens. Excellent service. I will definitely be back. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Laura (Sunman, IN) on 01/01/2017:
" Very scenic course. Beautiful setting. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Ken (Pawleys Island, SC) on 11/11/2016:
" Tees, fairways and the green were very good on my visit. I had plenty of roll in the fairway and the green were of good speed. Starter let me play by myself and I got my round in under 3 hours with a stop after 9 holes. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Brenda (Plainville, CT) on 11/10/2016:
" I love this course. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The stories that are told along various holes makes it unique. I rated the course condition as good and not excellent because this time of year they are reseeding and its almost end of season. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Dustin on 09/19/2016:
" Beautiful historic property, course was very eye appealing and in great condition. We will return. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Susan (Dallastown, PA) on 09/13/2016:
" Really enjoyed it. Good value, nice course. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Allen (Charlotte, NC) on 09/06/2016:
" Good. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Mark (Grove City, PA) on 09/06/2016:
" Accommodated a single, really appreciated that. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Tim (Louisville, KY) on 09/04/2016:
" The design of the course and the beautiful layout on a plantation with moss covered trees was picture perfect. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Beastlybill on 09/01/2016:
" Staff of starters need to get a clue. We were a twosome paired with another twosome. Teed off at 8:30. No one was in front of us for atleast two holes. At the seventh hole this ancient little Irish guy told us we needed to pick up the pace. He was totally off base. We were hitting from the whites. Two groups in back were threesomes with some hitting from the yellows. We played the front nine in two hours five minutes and the 18 in four hours 19 minutes. Well within reason. Tough crap if a threesome has to wait. Foursome has priority. It threw off our game for a couple holes until we realized we were within the proper time. Guess what Will room this is a resort course. Take your misplaced authority and stick it. Another time I was here and ten minutes before my tee time I was pressured to hurry because of twosomes they let out early but couldn't make the turn because of the double teeing. This is total BS. The starters and Marshalls need some lessons in etiquette. I told this to the golf pro and was given lip service that they would take to the Marshall. Check prior reviews and the staff here is full of themselves. Greens were not cut and shaggy. Minimal rain day before. "
OVERALL SCORE: [4]
David (Sumter, SC) on 08/30/2016:
" The course plays much longer than the indicated yardage. This is due to the fact that there are many subtle angles that reside within each hole. Failure to position the ball in the correct side of the fairway can make the course very difficult. Having said that, by locating the ball in the correct locations many greens provide that opportunity for a very fun and enjoyable afternoon of golf. I played with my wife and she was inside of 125 yards on many of the par 4 and par 5 holes hitting to the green in regulation. Hope this provides useful information for the women who are interested. There were a few burnt spots due to lack of rain. None of these impacted the play of anyone in our group. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Tony on 08/15/2016:
" Great course! "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Stan on 05/31/2016:
" Every hole on the course is interesting. You really have to have a keen sense of managing your game and where to be for your next shot. Course management is very important. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Kevin (Browns Summit, NC) on 05/23/2016:
" The course is very attractive. Holes are challenging, fair, and all are very different from one another. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Richard (Murrells Inlet, SC) on 05/14/2016:
" Great, fantastic experience... but played like crap. My son and I will definitely play this course again. Loved seeing the 10 foot gator, glad my ball wasn't near him "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Scott (Luckey, OH) on 05/13/2016:
" (Liked the) greens "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Steven (Greensboro, NC) on 05/09/2016:
" Willbrook Plantation was the best course we played out of the eight courses we played. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Linda (Beverly, MA) on 05/01/2016:
" Extremely slow. 5 hrs and 45 min way too long. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Mark (Marcy, NY) on 04/30/2016:
" The course overbooked. It took us almost 5 and a half hours to complete our round. That is unacceptable. Will not golf there again. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Steve on 04/20/2016:
" The golf course is in phenomenal shape. Highly recommend playing Willbrook! "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Jon (New Concord, OH) on 04/18/2016:
" Great all around experience. We really liked this course. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Brian (Rochester, MI) on 04/09/2016:
" Always enjoyable "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Andre (Myrtle Beach, SC) on 04/08/2016:
" (Good) Staff "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Patrick (Kanata, ON) on 03/27/2016:
" Course was in excellent shape. Was interested to play another Dan Maples design (one of my favourites is his Oyster Bay) and was definitely not disappointed with Willbrook. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
David Smigel on 03/22/2016:
" Course was great as always. One of my favorites. Didn't disappoint, highly recommend. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
James (Springville, IN) on 03/01/2016:
" I have played this course many times and it is always in great condition. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Jim on 02/22/2016:
" Golf Course is in great shape. Greens are rolling nice. A must play if your in or around Pawleys Island. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Ed (Grande Digue, NB) on 02/13/2016:
" Nice layout. Good conditions for time of year. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Roy (Gainesville, GA) on 02/09/2016:
" All around a good experience, greens good and fairway drained well. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Michael (Ellicott City, MD) on 01/20/2016:
" Best course in the southern tier. Takes a bit longer for this course to dry out. Greens in great shape. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
James (South Yarmouth, MA) on 01/16/2016:
" Real nice tract -- great layout -- enjoyed -- target golf for sure .. I wish tree could talk -- a lot of history there . "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Timothy on 01/12/2016:
" Had a great day. Pace was good, about 4 hours. Fairways were wet but we could still run the fairways, 90 degree rule. Overall nice shape, with only a few bare spots on the greens but it appears the maintenance was working with them to get them back to normal. Always a good spot with very nice scenery being a plantation course. We will return soon. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Gary (Cornelius, NC) on 01/04/2016:
" The course was in great shape. Played from the senior tees challenging but not overly difficult. Really makes you choose your club carefully. Plays 1-2 clubs longer probably due to the huge greens. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Benjamin (Gastonia, NC) on 12/04/2015:
" Course was in great shape and always enjoy playing this course when we visit Litchfield. Challenging course that requires accuracy off the tee and into the greens but visibly attractive with the Spanish moss off the trees and well shaded. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Sims (High Point, NC) on 11/27/2015:
" The entire staff - starter, attendants, course marshalls, grill - super friendly and professional! Beautiful course. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Dayrell (Haymarket, VA) on 11/24/2015:
" Played here before this is a special place with its History. Excellent service. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Nancy (Morristown, NJ) on 11/01/2015:
" A really pretty course, due to a lot of previous rain, was cart path only, we understand why but always feel taken advantage of when not told or notified ahead to choose to play under those conditions or inform us and a course 1/2 price discount, or carry bag and walk it and don't charge the cart fee. we respect the clubs course protection, but we met players due to health can't do all the walking, or driven a distance to far to decline and leave. Customer service should be job one. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Paul (Boisbri, QC) on 10/24/2015:
" Nice golf course. Food at the grill could be better. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
See All 1284 reviews »